Home > Staff > Academic staff

Academic staff

Professors

Head of Department: Astronomy
Prof Patrick A. Woudt
RW James 5.39.1
Patrick.Woudt@uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 2392
 
NRF South African Research Chair in Astrophysics and Space Science
Prof Thomas Jarrett
RW James 5.34
jarrett@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 2394
 
SKA SA South African Research Chair in Extragalactic Multi-wavelength Astronomy
Prof Renee Kraan-Korteweg
RW James 5.28
kraan@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 5829
 
SALT South African Research Chair in Fast Transients and Gravitational Wave Counterparts; joint position with SAAO based at UCT
Prof Paul Groot
RW James 5.39.2
p.groot@astro.ru.nl
Tel: 021 650 5830
 
UCT-UWC-SKA SA Chair in Radio Astronomy, and, Director IDIA
Prof Russ Taylor
RW James 5.25
russ@idia.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 1840
 
Adjunct Professor; joint position with SAAO based at SAAO
Prof Matt Bershady
RW James 5.39.2
mab@astro.wisc.edu
Tel: 021 650 5830
 
SKA Visiting Professor
Prof Rob Fender
rob.fender@physics.ox.ac.uk
 

Associate Professors

Co-director: National Astrophysics and Space Science Programme, and, deputy Head of Department
Assoc Prof Sarah Blyth
RW James 5.29
sarblyth@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 5372
 
Adjunct associate professor; based at IAU OAD
Adj Assoc Prof Vanessa McBride
IAU Office of Astronomy for Development
vanessa@astro4dev.org
Tel: 021 460 9301
 
Adjunct associate professor; joint position with SAAO based at SAAO
Adj Assoc Prof Shazrene Mohamed
RW James 5.33
shazrene@saao.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 2393
 

Senior lecturers

Dr Kurt van der Heyden
RW James 5.35
heyden@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 4042
 
Dr Lucia Marchetti
RW James 
marchetti@ast.uct.ac.za


Lecturers

Joint position with SAAO, based at UCT
Dr Itumeleng Monageng 
RW James 5.36
itu@saao.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 5830
 
Adjunct lecturer; based at SARAO
Dr Bradley Frank
South African Radio Astronomy Observatory
bfrank@ska.ac.za
 
 
[last updated: 3 July 2020]
TOP