Home > Staff > Academic staff

Academic staff

Professors

Head of Department: Astronomy
Prof Patrick A. Woudt
RW James 5.39.1
Patrick.Woudt@uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 2392
 
NRF South African Research Chair in Astrophysics and Space Science
Prof Thomas Jarrett
RW James 5.34
jarrett@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 2394
 
SKA SA South African Research Chair in Extragalactic Multi-wavelength Astronomy
Prof Claude Carignan
RW James 5.32
ccarignan@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 2395
 
UCT-UWC-SKA SA Chair in Radio Astronomy, and, Director IDIA
Prof Russ Taylor
RW James 5.25
russ@idia.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 1840
 
UCT Chair of Astronomy
Prof Renee Kraan-Korteweg
RW James 5.28
kraan@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 5829
 
SKA Visiting Professor
Prof Rob Fender
rob.fender@physics.ox.ac.uk
 

Senior lecturers

Co-director: National Astrophysics and Space Science Programme, and, deputy Head of Department
Dr Sarah Blyth
RW James 5.29
sarblyth@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 5372
 
Deputy Head of Department [on sabbatical in 2018]
Dr Kurt van der Heyden
RW James 5.39.2
heyden@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 4042
 
Joint SAAO/UCT position, adjunct senior lecturer
Dr Shazrene Mohamed
RW James 5.33
shazrene@saao.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 5830
 

Lecturers

Joint UCT/SAAO position
Dr Retha Pretorius
RW James 5.38
retha@saao.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 5830 
 
SKA lecturer
Dr Bradley Frank
RW James 5.35
bradley@ast.uct.ac.za
Tel: 021 650 5830
 
 
TOP